Changing colors and Changing lives

I’m used to pink products piled on shelves for the month of October, but I was pleasantly surprised when I watched bloggers turn pink for this month.  The face of many of my favorite blogs changed their look in support of Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  Though changing colors and placing a pink ribbon on your facebook page may not necessarily generate funds it does peak people’s curiosity, inspire people to learn more and prompt some to take action. 

For the bloggers who are already pink, they have adopted their own means of supporting causes. Recently as I was scouring The Budget Fashionista for some fabulous fashion tips, I realized Kathryn and Angela were doing their part by contributing a $1 toward the Breast Cancer Awareness fund for every comment readers left on their posts.

Since breast cancer has touched the lives of many, it has garnered significant support.  However, we all support causes that we feel passionately about, whether they are on a large or small scale.  I’m an avid reader of Beth Kanter’s blog which documents how non profits can implement social media.  Beth just launched a personal campaign for a Cambodian student she cultivated a relationship with.  I learned about her fundraising efforts as I was checking her blog and noticed that each day she was dedicating a post to recognize and thank her contributors.  Each of these generous contributions are going to help make a difference in Leng Sopharth’s life.

Whether they are making a difference in one life or a million, these women and bloggers have my support.  I’ll be posting a note on TBF’s blog and  making my contribution to Beth’s Sharing Foundation shortly.  I encourage all my friends to do the same.

4 Comments

Filed under Social Causes, Social Media

4 responses to “Changing colors and Changing lives

  1. Hey, thanks for the shout out for TBF — hopefully, we’ll get lots more comments — those dollars add up! Great blog, by the way :)

  2. Thank you so much for this support and fabulous post. Thank you also for the support. I’m trying to write the thank you blog posts as fast as people joined in to support Leng … I’m going to up late!

    Beth

  3. Pingback: Podnosh Blog : High Fibre Podcasting » Archive » One Life Changed by Trust in Beth Kanter.

  4. Pingback: Podnosh Blog : High Fibre Podcasting » Archive » Beth does it Twice

Leave a Reply

