Christmas Meme

So after another long blogging hiatus, and after a day of battling crazed shoppers in the beautifully decorated Back Bay I thought I would start up again to share my favorite bits of the holidays. Found this meme at The Preppy Wedding

1. Egg nog or hot chocolate?
Hot chocolate. When I was little, I would complain the whole way to and from ski lessons but upon return my mother would make a mug of swiss mix with little marshmallows. Its always the perfect cure to a bitter winter day.

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?
Wrap… half the fun is looking at all the beautiful colors nestled under the tree, guessing the gift and tearing it open. At the end, I love the brightly colored bits of paper strewn around the room.

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white?

Always white – I love the crisp contrast to the fresh green.

4. Do you hang mistletoe?
Nope – but it sure was popular around all the guys houses in college!

5. When do you put your decorations up?
When I was growing up my family probably did it the first weekend of December, but now its more about when I have time

6. What is your favorite holiday dish:
Pancakes on Christmas morning

7. Favorite holiday memory as a child?
In second grade, after months of frenzied anticipation I realized I would be missing the class trip to see the Nutcracker at the Wang Theater. I’ll never forget recieving a large package … an overstuffed manila envelope from Mrs. Essylstyn’s class. Each of the sweet little ones had included a drawing of their favorite scene in colorful crayons with a note. I felt so missed!

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?

I think I blocked it out! No idea

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?
Never!

10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

To me, my family always decorated perfectly… wooden nutcrackers, red and gold glass ornaments, golden ornaments in the shape of various instruments, delicate red bows and my favorites… mirrored doves

11. Snow: love it or hate it?
A blanket of fresh snow has a serene effect on me. Also, I still stick my tongue out to catch snowflakes.

12. Can you ice skate?
I ice skated for years when I was much younger – then I could muster a few jumps and a rare fancy move or two… now I’m sure I can still make it around the rink a few times with only a fall or two

13. Do you remember your favorite gift?
When I was very little, I would have done anything for a kitten. That wasn’t possible, so one of my presents that year was a stuffed animal ( a chestnut brown cat with streaks of black, a soft white belly and a red bell collar) that remained my favorite for years – I named her Noel. My next favorite gift was nestled in the tree the Christmas Ben and I spent in Aspen. It was the first Christmas away from our families. He saved the best present for last, and gave me a delicate gold ring, with a silver face and the inscription, “with one glance, I loved you with a thousand hearts”.

14. What’s the most important thing about the holidays for you?
Waking up in the morning and never losing the childlike urgency of running around to wake everyone up.

15.What is your favorite holiday dessert?
peppermint stick ice cream or sugar cookies that are cheesily decorated with icing and sprinkles

16. What tops your tree?
A fragile glass angel

17. Which do you prefer, giving or receiving?

Giving… its an opportunity to really give thought about the people I love- their interests, passions and the things that are unique to them- in order to find a meaningful and special gift.

18. What is your favorite Christmas song?
Any and every rendition of All I Want for Christmas is You…. please don’t make fun.

19. What is your favorite Christmas movie?
Love Actually

20. What would be the best gift you could receive this year?
A donation in my name in support of my favorite causes… its what i asked for!

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

